Men’s 1st XI vs Teddington HC (Home) | 05 Feb 22

Lost 1-3

Scorers: Taggart

MoM: Taggart

DoD: Bean

Canterbury Mens 1’s got their outdoor season back under way in a late night game at Polo Farm, hosting Teddington who despite a run of poor results, always hold a threat with a strong squad.

The game got under way and the home team quickly got into their groove with Ronan Taggart netting with a thumping strike into the net.

Going into half-time, the game was fairly even with both teams not quite gelling to bring their best stuff.

Tom Richford duly organised his merry men of teenagers at the back in Matt Carney, Ben Young and Linus Zillmer effectively to nullify any main Teddington threat.

However, with a penalty corner squirming into the backboard, Canterbury did find themselves level at the break.

As things progressed, coach Boyne came into the ascendancy, trying to take control of the midfield which had been a tough battleground for the first 45 minutes of so. However one break from Teddington managed to split the midfield and run at the exposed defence to nick a well-finished goal.

Canterbury managed to steal the ball in midfield in the final quarter but couldn’t quite find the finishing touches to draw level before they found themselves down to 10 as frustrations began to show.

Teddington also found them down to 10 soon after and the home side managed to win a couple of penalty corners which threatened but didn’t find the net. Teddington managed to sneak a late goal to put the game to bed in what was a disappointing evening for the first team.

The highlight was seeing another junior from the Polo production line in Josh Prebble making his debut with a performance beyond his experience.

They continue their season, still in second with a couple of points cushion and superior goal difference over the chasing pack as they travel for a local derby in Sevenoaks next weekend.

Squad: Chris Rea, Tom Richford, Linus Zillmer, Matt Carney, Ben Young, Craig Boyne, Tom Degiovanni, Hamish Roberts, Tom Bean, Miles Coode, Ronan Taggart, Conor Annand, Cal Brown-Lea, Josh Prebble