Men’s Friars vs Sittingbourne 5 (Away) | 02 Oct 21

Won 2-1

Scorers: Jonny Devereux, John Aikin

MoM: Jamie Harris and Simon Triggs

DoD: not awarded though Pete Bowell came close with his “chatting” to both umpires!

Having packed our flippers but not (though your writer hastens to assure readers of a sensitive disposition) – our speedos off we went to downtown Sittingbourne HC (previously Old Bordenians). The conditions were probably worse at Polo but we were still drenched before the start but this did not seem to affect Friars “natural hockey skills” and the forward line of Skipper Corporal Jones, up and coming prospect Jonny Devereux, John Aikin and Geordie Hayward all had chances (including a disallowed goal) in the first 15 minutes before Jonny Devereux took a solo run and with the angles closing calmly and with great composure lobbed the Sittingbourne keeper to put the visitors ahead.

And so the score remained until the break with some great saves from guest keeper Trigger (aka Simon Triggs).

Jaffa Cakes were liberally sprinkled round as usual by vice skipper Hurlow and some of that sprinkling included keeping the excellent umpires happy in the wet . This of course had no effect whatsoever as quite literally within 20 seconds of the restart a goal was conceded. RE-SET!
For the 11 Friars against a Sittingbourne squad of 15 the next 20 minutes was a solid period of Sittingbourne dominance with the Friras defence having it all to do with Jamie Harris, Kevin, Biggles and Mike Barton along with Trigger much in the action with some midfield leg work from Brian and Pete Bowell. Slowly though the Friars began to claw back territory and the game became quite spicey with skippers called by the umpires for a little talking to about their teams’ over-enthusiasm. The match continued with a lovely ball from Jamie down the right to Geordie and then Jonny Devereux who passed to John Aikin to score what turned out to the be the winner.

Squad: Simon Triggs(GK), Mike Barton, Brian Hurlow, Chris Ward, Jamie Harris, Tony Jones(C) , Kevin Goulden, Geordie Hayward, John Aikin, Jonny Devereux, Pete Bowell